Mubarak Wakaso Axed From Black Stars Squad


The Black Stars of Ghana will commence residential camping very soon ahead of the upcoming FIFA World Cup qualifiers with five players omitted from the initial named squad.


Newly-appointed head coach Milovan Rajevac initially announced a 32 provisional man list for the double header against the Warriors of Zimbabwe a week ago but has now taking a cut to reduce it to 27.


Veteran Mubarak Wakaso, Tariq Fosu, Italian Serie A duo of Emmanuel Gyasi and Alfred Duncan alongside Asante Kotoko’s Abdul Ganiu Ismail are the players trimmed from the squad- who are set to regroup very soon.
However, injured Andy Yiadom is also likely to miss out with scans already being taken on a knock he sustained on the 80th minute in their precious 0-1 away win against Cardiff City over the weekend in the Championship.


Meanwhile, the remaining 27 players will pitch camping on Tuesday, October 5, 2021 at the Cape Coast Stadium as they look to gel themselves very well to return to winning ways having lost to South Africa in the last game.


The Black Stars are sitting second on the Group G log with three points after two matches having narrowly edged out the Walia Ibexes of Ethiopia in their opening game of the qualifiers.


Ghana will host Zimbabwe for the first leg in Cape Coast on October 9, 2021 and will travel to Harare for the return encounter in three days time.


The remaining 27 players below:
Lawrence Ati- Zigi (FC St. Gallen), Richard Atta (Hearts of Oak), Ibrahim Danlad, (Asante Kotoko), Jojo Wallocott (Swindon Town)
Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC), Andrew Yiadom (Reading FC), Gideon Mensah (Bordeaux), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg).
Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Baba Idrissu (Real Mallorca), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Majeed Ashimeru (RSC Anderlecht), Kofi Kyere (St. Pauli), Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Steadfast FC).
Andre Ayew (Al Sadd SC), Kamaldeen Suleymana (Rennes), Joel Fameyeh (Orenburg), Yaw Yeboah (Wisła Kraków), Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha FC), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Caleb Ekuban (Genoa), Benjamin Tetteh (Yeni Malatyaspor)




Thanks for reading our latest updates. Kindly share this post with friends and loved ones and do follow us on the various social media platforms: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube & WhatsApp

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: